2022 Competition Winners

Congratulations to the 2022 WMC Competition Winners!

All Senior Category winners, all Junior Camp Category winners, Senior Camp Category winners, as well as the first place winners in the High School Category will perform their pieces and receive their prizes at the WMC Competition Recital on Sunday, March 6, 2022 at 1:30 PM at The Center at Belvedere in Charlottesville.  The composition winners will receive their prizes in the mail except for the first place winner who will attend the Winner's recital prepared to either play their piece, have someone else play their piece, or have a high-quality audio or video to be played over the screen/sound system.


Joanna Kim, violin ~ Kenneth Hindman Scholarship (teacher Julie Wilkinson)

William Vio Lee, cello ~ Wednesday Music Club Member Scholarship (teacher Carl Donakowski)

August Nesic, piano ~ William Blackford Scholarship (teacher Jeremy Thompson)

Shio Tohmi, piano ~ Robert Smith Jr. Scholarship (teacher Noriko Donahue)

1st Alternate is Kevin McCoy, violin (teacher Johanna Beaver)



Gudrun Campbell, cello ~ Peggy Romer Camp Scholarship (teacher Erin Flynn)

Jonah Harris, piano ~ Wednesday Music Club Member Scholarship (teacher Jeanne Jackson)

Love Li, piano ~ Yvaine Duisit Scholarship (teacher Song Song)

Elle Polifka, piano ~ Meda McNeir Tilman Scholarship (teacher Jeanne Jackson)


HIGH SCHOOL CATEGORY WINNERS (Two 1st and Two 2nd prizes)

First Prize:  Chloe (Xiyao) Zou, piano (teacher Jeanne Jackson)

First Prize:  Mary McCoy, viola (teacher Johanna Beaver)

Second Prize: Jin Oishi, piano (teacher Joyce Polifka)

Second Prize: Lucy Evans, piano (teacher Jeanne Jackson)

(Honorable Mention: Ev Wellmon, piano (teacher Shelby Sender)

All prizes provided by The Allison Phillips Hamilton Fund and gifts in memory of Margaret Pinkston



First Prize: tie: Laura A. Perez Cutright, viola (teacher Ayn Balija) and Samuel Hall, trumpet (teacher Don Brubaker)

Second Prize: Gavin Harris, piano (teacher Jeanne Jackson)

Honorable Mention: Cole Smith, flute (teacher Angela Kelly)

All prizes provided by The Eleanor Gray Shea Scholarship and the Robert W. Smith, Jr. Scholarship Fund



First Prize: Matthew Hodge (teacher Jo Pettitt)

Second Prize: Happy Li (teacher Song Song)

All prizes provided by The Eleanor Gray Shea Scholarship

Winner's Recital Program here

Judges Bios here 


Description of the Competition: Each year the WMC holds a competition for music camp scholarships and monetary prizes. It is open to any student in Charlottesville City and the contiguous Counties surrounding it, as well as those who study with WMC members. Applicants must be recommended by their music teachers. 

Thank you to all competitors, accompanists, teachers, and parents! All rating sheets will be mailed to the competitors' teachers.  Accompanist Fee Application and any other questions can be directed to: competition@wednesdaymusicclub.org

Our programs are supported in part by funds which have been created through donations by WMC members, friends, and families in memory of Club members. The Club welcomes contributions to these funds, which can be sent to:

The Wednesday Music Club
P.O. Box 7642
Charlottesville, VA 22906

or contrubute online HERE


The Robert W. Smith, Jr. Fund                                                                     
The William Blackford Scholarship Fund
The Yvaine Duisit Youth Scholarship Fund
The Allison Phillips Hamilton Fund
The Peggy Romer Camp Scholarship Fund
The Meda McNeir Tilman Scholarship Fund
The Eleanor Gray Shea Fund
The Wednesday Music Club Members Scholarship Fund


Accompanist Fee Application [pdf]

Music Camp List [pdf]